Shap, Nr Penrith, Cumbria, CA10 3QU

01931 716628

accomodation accomodation accomodation accomodation

Testimonials

This Hotel deserves a five star rating it is the best Hotel we have stayed in for many years...many thanks to all the staff...Mr E Laycock, 24th September 2017

Venue great as always...lunch excellent...Ian Rankine, Mars Drinks Meeting Coordinator, 9th August 2017

This is truly a hidden Gem - Hotel and service was excellent cant fault it and I'm fussy, we were visiting due to being in the location for Kendal calling festival. Staff were top notch nothing too much bother and food was fantastic you have to try the Sunday carvery 3 wonderful courses and a relaxed atmosphere, to say it was value for money is an understatement. We relaxed in the bar area again staff were very accommodating and prices for a hotel are very reasonable. Will definately return and use as a base for walking in Lakes or maybe just a relaxed break away...Rob I, Tripadvisor, August 2017

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of May. Clean comfortable, old fashioned type room with a lovely strong shower. Breakfast was buffet style with cereal and porridge, fruit, yoghurts and hot help yourself breakfast items available, they bring tea and coffee to the table. We ate in the bar once (not the restaurant) - lovely food, quick service. Drinks are a bit pricey but to be expected. Nice little outdoor lawn area to sit if it's nice. Red squirrel sanctuary is onsite, a couple of minutes walk, and is lovely to sit and watch them feed. Best time to go to see them is in the morning. The hotel is quite remote so you would need a car, but makes it nice and quiet and picturesque when there...Jo Duncan, Tripadvisor, August 2017

We want to thank you all at Shap wells for making our day so special it was fantastic...I want to thank the house keeping for being so helpful and moving all our belongings into the bridal room.The main room was beautiful...the food was amazing had lots of guests tell me they thought the food was gorgeous and I want to say a big thank you to the chef for coming up with the dairy free and egg free chocolate cake for myself and one other guest it looked stunning and tasted amazing. Aaron and I loved the detail written in chocolate on our desserts was a lovely touch.The grounds outside are gorgeous and well kept and we got some beautiful photos.The staff at reception were really helpful and always there for our guests. I thought the food we had for the buffet on the evening of the wedding was lovely, more than enough, proper Cumberland sausages for hot dogs and one of the staff was very nice and made sure for a guest there was no egg in the sausages. Also a big thank you to the chef for doing a plate of sandwiches specially for me and 1 guest that needed dairy free.Thank you so much for the knife engraved with our names and date of wedding was not expecting that it is beautiful. A massive thank you to Charlie Smith for arranging everything, keeping in contact with us for the whole year, keeping us up to date with everything, emailing and ringing to arrange meetings and double checking everything, for sorting out table plan and flowers being dropped off at shap wells everything went to plan and was fantastic.Thank you very much to everybody at shap wells we would recommend the venue to anybody....Mr & Mrs Aaron Bateson Wedding, 29th July 2017


We cant thank Charlie and all the staff at the Shap Wells Hotel enough for helping us have a very special and memorable wedding day. Our photographs are amazing in the beautiful grounds of the hotel, and the lovely décor inside of the hotel. Special thanks to Little Charlie and Theresa for the amount of hours they put in over the weekend both making sure Craig and I were ok along the way, and to Mark for being drafted in at the last minute. They could not have done enough for us. The food at the wedding breakfast has been complimented by the majority of guests, our 'different' menu, cooked fantastically by the Chef, went down a treat. The wedding package we used ensured minimal stress for us, and worked out very good value for money...Mr & Mrs Craig Simons, Saturday 1st July 2017

Rob...just a short note to say a big thank you to Shap Wells Hotel team for their kindness and support shown to my mother in law and family during a recent hospilisation of my father in law...Special thanks to both yourself and Laura-Jane for your kind attention, you both went the extra mile and your service and support was outstanding....pass my compliments to the whole Shap Wells team...your service was truly 5 star. You will be pleased to know that he is making a good recovery and he hopes to book another trip to the Lake District next year, you can be assured that Shap Wells will be the only choice of Hotel...thanks Again, Will Brown,24 July 2017

We stayed just 1 night on our way back to Kent from Scotland. Off the M6 at J39 this gem of a hotel is down a long track off the A6. But what a wonderful position. A little river runs beside the hotel which used to be a spa. Used by coach trips but so efficient that we never felt squeezed. Comfortable. Good restaurant...Gail G, Tripadvisor Review, July 2017

Paul who ran the control was happy and commented how helpful staff were. The entrants enjoyed the visit and indeed asked if we could use you again in 2018, I cant think of higher praise...Chris Lee, Lancashire Automobile Club - Coast to Coast Coffee Stop, July 2017

Thanks for a lovely stay again. Hopefully we can sneak back for another overnight stay in the autumn...Tina Terry
7th July 2017

fantastic stay at @shapwells , beautiful building and grounds, very friendly staff, food spot on and grounds amazing , a credit to you all...@megapixelPhoto, July 2017

Thank you so much, I have really enjoyed my visit to Shap Wells Hotel wonderful location, very unique and interesting. Staff, outstanding and very friendly, even at times they were understaffed, excellent food. Would have been nice to have the fire lit in the evening as it was chilly at times. Thank you again will recommend...Christine Wicks

Staff all very helpful and friendly...from cleaning staff to waiters and bar staff all aim to please, all leading to our stay being a pleasureable experience...Room 113, July 2017

The Hotel is in an ideal position and is very comfortable. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is excellent in choice range and really good. Thank you so much, we have really enjoyed our stay...Ian & Alma Wilson, July 2017

Stayed for five nights at this lovely old hotel. Staff couldnt have been more helpful although they were shorthanded on a few occasions. The food was really excellent. Great portions and beautifully cooked - whether traditional English fare or something a bit more exotic. Thanks to the chefs who did such a great job. Clean and comfortable rooms and, if you could get up early enough in the morning, you could go for a woodland walk and watch red squirrels playing in the trees. Magical...Reviewed by Mary M

We stayed in January as a family, it is a large building with loads of character and proper coal fires and everywhere was immaculate, the room was nice, not the biggest but everything was perfect, the only negative was the heating was on all night making the room to warm to sleep well but the beds were comfortable. The bar prices were normal hotel prices and generally reasonable and we had a bar meal which was a generous portion and not bad priced, the breakfast was buffet style, all fresh and hot the room had a lovely view and was not to crowded with tables. The staff were friendly and welcoming and to top it off we actually seen the squirrels on a morning feeding in the grounds around the hotel and got some lovely photos of them...Belated Review from January 2017, happytraveller94891

Spot on have used Shap Wells defore. Great service, friendly staff and facilities are great...Thanks very much...Adrian Brown, JT Atkinson Ltd Meeting Coordinator, 12 July 2017

Dear Charles, thank you very much, the whole family had a fabulous time at the Shap Wells Hotel, the service you provided for us was impeccable and very much appreciated. It would appear everyone was satisfied with their rooms as I heard no one complaining, and the meals were first class and served piping hot, please pass a compliment onto your chef and kitchen staff.
We are already talking of a return visit next year if you can retain the same tariff and possibly a yearly pilgrimage thereafter. I shall for certain and I'm sure others in our party will be recommending your hotel. Once again thank you very much,
Yours sincerely, Mr. M Whinham, Whinham Family Reunion, 7 & 8 July 2017

From start to finish everything about the room, facilities, catering and staff was excellent. We had a really useful and productive away day event and a large part of this was due to the venue and the team involved with organising this. A big thank you from me and my team. We are hoping to repeat the event in the near future and due to the excellent experience we had at Shap Wells, we will be eager to rebook the venue...Paul Jackson, Operations Manager, Highways England Meeting 28th June 2017

Dear Charles...Thanks for another successful day at Shap Wells. Everything was up to the normal high standard. The lunch was excellent, actually much better that December last, with the starters better and a full selection of vegetables. The meats are always excellent...Thanks again, Regards, Richard Preston, Western Front Association Meeting and Lunch, 25 June 2017

Relaxed, Friendly, Great Service...thanks as always Ian Rankine, Mars Drinks Meeting, 14 June 2017

Another excellent meeting, hosted and facilitated by Charlie. Nothing is too much trouble...Many Thanks, Lisa Williamson, Emis Health Ltd, 12 June 2017

Very pleasant and professional experience. Room prepared prior to arrival, water/coffee available as arranged. Will be using the facilities in future...Nick Doyle, Zurich Conference, 7th June 2017

Dear Mira...Thank you so much for a fabulous week at Shap wells hotel! After a rocky start that was remedied quickly we all had a brilliant time and would certainly recommend you to everyone!  We enjoyed ourselves each evening helped by your brilliant staff! nothing was too much trouble, a massive thank you to all the staff who worked so hard especially Robert and everyone in every department of the Hotel. Our room was cleaned everyday nothing was missed well done! Please pass our thanks to everyone concerned....Best wishes Deborah and The Singing Seagulls, 27 May for 7 Nights

Excellent day, everybody very attentive and all our needs were met. Lunches were lovely, the tables were set out well with all that we needed with refreshments. Shap Wells provide a fantastic service and I would recommend to anybody to hold their meetings at Shap Wells...Craig Scott, Managers (Carlisle Mencap) Meeting Coordinator, 10 May 2017

Hi Mira...I would just like to record the thanks and appreciation of all our club members for the great time we all had during our visit to your hotel.The service we received from all of your colleagues was excellent, prompt and efficient response to all requests and always delivered with a friendly smile.I would also like to thank you personally for the help to myself prior to our arrival, dealing with my many queries and alterations. We presented a tip of £100 to the restaurant manager for the hotel group tip pot, as we appreciate that all of your colleagues participate in delivering such good service, not just those that we see in the restaurant! Many thanks again from myself and all the club members...Regards, Steve Alewood, Stockton Rambling Club,5th & 6th May 2017.

Thank you all for a lovely stay at Shap Wells last week (Mothers Union Members) of many branches in Cumbria Diocese really enjoyed our stay, didnt hear one word of complaint, only praise so that a feather in your cap. The food and accommodation, caring attitude were all highly praised. Thank you once again from Shap Mother's Union...p.s. Red Squirrels added to our enjoyment...Mrs Phyllis Brown

Excellent room, fab service, great food. Charlie was brilliant and really helpful with everything from booking right through to the end of the meeting...brilliant & we'll be back!...Lisa Williamson, Meeting Coordinator, Emis Health Ltd, 8 May 2017

Very positive comments from all delegates, Dealt well with any problems, food & service excellent, friendly staff, rooms good, thanks to all staff, Jane Conlan, Carlisle Diocese Mother's Union Conference 3 & 4 May 2017

Hi Charlie..further to our recent conversation I write just say we had another successful day and is thanks to you and the team at Shap Wells. The room was set out perfectly for requirements and there was a good variety of food for lunch. Small issues such as location light switches were dealt with immediately. Thanks for your help. I shall be obliged if you would penciled in the 21 April 2018 for next visit..Ian Hill, Cumbria Historical Industrial Society Conference Coordinator, 22 April 2017

Hello Charlie...On behalf of members from Blackpool Vehicle Preservation Group (BVPG) and the Sunbeam Talbot and Alpine Register (STAR) clubs, a big thank you for helping us to organise a fantastic weekend last week. Everyone enjoyed their stay, the hotel is a perfect base for car trips to the Dales and the Lake District. Thank you again...Kind Regards, Barrie and Eunice Clark. April 2017

Thanks again a good day with all that we needed...see you all soon...Ian Rankine, Mars Drinks, Meeting Coordinator, 26 April 2017

Sir...The feedback received from our members, and guests, was overwhelmingly positive and I have been asked to pass on our appreciation for your part in contributing to a very very successful weekend. The whole weekend, from our first welcome to our farewell, was an enjoyable experience due, in no small way, to the welcoming, cheerful and helpful members of your staff. We would like our thanks, and appreciation, to be passed on to all those involved in providing such excellent service and we are already looking forward to next years event...Again, our thanks, Regards, Harold Archer. Chairman 22 Group R.O.C.A.  Residential Reunion & Dinner 31 March - 2nd April

Hi Charlie...I am just sending you an email to thank you for having us at your hotel for our Golden Wedding anniversary party. Everyone really enjoyed themselves the staff were brilliant and the food was really excellent the roast beef I really need to say was the nicest I have tasted when eating out in a long time. If you would just pass on my comments to your staff you are a really great hotel for functions and special occasions or even just to spend a night away to a lovely place for the night. We will definitely be back hopefully lots of times. A very big thank you to you...Many thanks

Dorothy and Keith Davies, 50th Anniversary Dinner, 1st April 2017

Hotel location excellent, accommodation excellent, flexibility in coping with varying timescales over two days excellent. Conference room well sized for needs, equipment all perfect...Honeywell Conference 14 & 15 March 2017

Hi Charlie...I would just like to take this opportunity to say a Big Thank You to yourself , Robert , And all the hard working staff for helping the Soul and Motown Weekender a great success.  Everyone who we spoke to over he weekend said the hotel was fantastic the staff were very polite and helpful and the Food was very nice.  The Whole weekend was very enjoyable from start to finish, I am sure everyone will be booking for next years event March 9th / 10th 2018. I would also like to a  special  thank you to Robert who looked after everyone and made sure everyone was happy. Once again a Big Thank you to everyone at Shap Wells Hotel for making our stay very enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you all in March 2018...Regards, Kevin Sowerby, DJ & Organiser, Soul in the Lakes Weekender, March 2017.

Just come back this was our first visit. Fantastic weekend really friendly people and the music was amazing. Well done everyone involved see you next year xxx To quote the song "It'll never be over for me"...Teresa McNee, March 2017

Had an enjoyable Friday night dancing the night away, thank you to all, and got to mention Tamar, the New Zealand girl working there, you're such a lovely girl...Lynn Van Dyke, March 2017
Just got back from shap wells hotel after a 2 night stay the hotel was in a lovely location, rooms were clean, gorgeous views, staff were very pleasant & helpful will definitely be going back would highly recommend...carlostina98, March 2017

I stayed with my parents for 3 nights and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the rooms were clean and well appointed, with the décor being consistent throughout the whole hotel. The hotel is set in a beautifully peaceful location with ample car parking and a stream/river flowing along side. My room had a particularly lovely view looking onto the stream and surrounding countryside. It is also conveniently close to the motorway, however, you wouldn't realise it once you arrive as it is so peaceful. The food at the restaurant always came quickly and the portions were ample, the staff were always happy to help. Wide variety available in the mornings from a cooked breakfast to cereal, toast and porridge. We agreed amongst ourselves that we would return to stay at the hotel again...Nicola S, March 2017

5 of 5 starsJust arrived home after a superb short break with my husband and elderly father. Smallish room but perfectly adequate and clean. My father's single room was spacious and well appointed. From the moment we arrived till leaving, the staff were without exception, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed two excellent evening meals and the breakfasts were hearty with a good choice. The hotel is tucked away in a moorland valley yet close to the motorway and A6. It is very quiet and peaceful with an old fashioned charm about the building. It's a bit tired in places but on the whole we could not fault the Shap Wells and will return...Diane A, March 2017

Recently returned from a 2 night stay, and we definitely would return again. The food was great, both at the bar, and the restaurant. The room was lovely and spacious, with a great view. Many thanks to the staff...Amynutter_92, March 2017

We have just had a 2 night stay. There aren't words to praise the experience enough. We can't wait to book again. The hotel is in a beautiful remote location. The interior is gorgeous and evocative. The staff were friendly, approachable and extremely accommodating. The food was excellent. Overall the experience was one to remember with a smile. We didn't want to check out...Andy S, March 2017

Stayed for 2 nights on a wowcher deal. Hotel and room was clean and all the staff very friendly and helpful. Good location for walkers and separate accommodation available for those with dogs. We had food from the bar menu and the restaurant menu which were very tasty and good value. Fully stocked bar with reasonable prices. Enjoyed our visit very much and would stay again...KittyWiggins, February 2017

Another excellent stay at the Shap Wells Hotel. The evening was brilliant food music accommodation all first class. The venue was well patronised by many returning revellers. Cannot wait for the next event. Well done Team Shap...Arthur G, February 2017

Elizabeth Ann Lamb‎...We attended a family 70th on Sunday the 29th just like to say it was absolutely fantastic , the food was fabulous and the service top class !! Thank you very much , Sue and Bob Cowin , Kirby Lonsdale

After our conversation this afternoon, I would like to thank you and your team for a super night on Saturday 21.01.2017 (The hangover party). Also for the Christmas party tribute to Rod Stewart just brilliant. Therefore we have booked again for next year Saturday hangover party 21.01.2018...Shelly Shaw, 26th January 2017

Stayed here for 1 night last weekend and had a lovely time. We were warmly greeted and invited to join in the hangover party night  Everyone was friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Our room was spacious and well equipped and the breakfast was plentiful. Cant fault the staff, would definately go back...A very warm welcome Tripadvisor 5 of 5 stars yesterday Reviewed by bettytoo

Party night was great. Everyone in our party had a great evening, food was good, entertainment was excellent and we all had a brilliant time...see you all next year...Pauline Satterthwaite, 17 December 2016

Everybody had a great night, already booked for next year...David Alderson, 16 December 2016

A fantastic night as always...Pam Lewis, 17 December 2016

Our party thought it was excellent. Please can I book 30 rooms for next year...Kind Regards Liz Clarke, 17 December 2016

We had a fantastic night on Saturday, everything was spot on. The food was delious and staff very accommodating. The whole party thoroughly enjoyed their evening, many thanks...Donna Park, 17th December 2016

Our party of 10 all thought the same, fabulous food great, room great, staff great, entertainment great, breakfast great. Shall be returning, many thanks to you and staff...Stuart Brown, 16 December 2017

We all had a great night as usual and everyone including two new people are up for doing it all again next year...Linda Yuill, 16 December 2016

Motown night, food, venue, everything brilliant...Merry Christmas...Hazel Raine, 16 December 2016

I must say it was one of the best nights so far, the food was fantastic hot and quick to get out. The Spice girls and disco were excellent. Well done for another year...Margaret Atkinson, 10 December 2016

On Behalf of our party who attended the Rod Stewart Party Night on the 9th...may I say we had a wonderful evening into morning. None of us were ardent Rod Stewart fans but he was ok, but as over the last few years Shap Wells excelled with the meal, service, entertainment and breakfast. Thanks Charlie for getting us the round table and next to our friends the Camptons...Geoff Coward, 9 December 2016

We had a fab night! Food was good...Rod Stewart was good but the songs were all to slow to dance to til the last 3...DJ once again was excellent fantastic choice of music so everyone stayed dancing. The drink prices were very reasonable which makes a nice change in a Hotel. Staff no complaints, all seemed friendly. Rooms clean and tasteful....Breakfast very good!...Overall excellent value for money, it was our second and we'll be returning again next year...thank you Jo Anderson, 9 December 2016

Thank you once gain for our party night on the 3rd December, as always it was fantastic and very well organised. This year is our 4th time for the Fairfoull party and each year we have added to our numbers, and next year we hope tpo be there again...Christine Fairfoull, 3 December 2016

We had a wonderful time at Shap Wells. Nice Room, brilliant staff, good food and a great band...EVERY single member of staff we dealt with was absolutely brilliant. Great price to...Graham & Sheila Wilson

We both had an excellent night, I am so glad I picked it as the place to ask my girlfriend to marry me, luckily she said Yes...Badness awesome...the food was top notch and was still hot when served, which other venues can certainly learn from. Everything else was perfect, the staff were courteous and efficient...Derek Blower, 2 December 2016

Both party nights were fantastic. Badness were a fantastic showband...the meal was lovely and the staff could'nt do enough to help, it was nice to see all with smiling faces...we can't wait to come back next year at Christmas..Tom Heenan, 2 & 3 December 2016

Went to a Christmas Party at Shap Wells Hotel which included; a nights stay, a three course meal and breakfast in the morning. The staff were excellent, always happy to help and nothing was too much.

Mailing List Sign Up

* Email Address
* Lists





* = Required Field
Book online Dogs Welcome